Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

.travels.

with 19 comments

m: we’ve arrived!

the flights couldn’t have gone better and jack is quite the accommodating young traveler. he passed out on my lap for flight one from dfw to chicago, and made fast friends on flight two. a missionary from india and a wine-guzzling russian shared our row of bulkhead seats (who came up with that description, anyway?) and entertained jack for some time. (apparently, playing airplane with babies is a global phenomenon. the russian loved tossing jack in the air, which led me to be curious as to if its more enjoyable, even, while ON an airplane.)

airplanesmall1.jpg

lauren attempted to watch movies on a screen that cut out every twenty seconds. she seems to enjoy it and watched with tenacity that it would improve. i, on the other hand, made it through about two minutes of this and switched over to the a radio station that flip flopped between phil collins and kelly clarkson. i found this to be so ever odd a mix, but somehow listened long enough to realize that, YES, these were the only two artists being played. airlines sure know what we love. with all of these factors, how could our flight have been anything but pleasant? (the only improvement i can think of is if i’d gotten to experience airplane squared like jack. i think my asking the russian for this would have resulted in my immediate expulsion from the closest window, though.) good implementation of discretion, kenz. way to go.

we arrived in frankfurt on friday at 9:30 a.m., met by a running rob mezger, who’d parked the car just moments before. we’d already happily reunited with all our luggage and were off to the opal. (our van. quite odd in appearance, but able to fit lots of awkwardly shaped cargo).

for some reason i thought it took six hours to get from frankfurt to sarajevo. i soon realized that i made this number up in my head and it had no basis in reality. truth be told, it takes three days. (well, two nights, three days driving). about 27 hours. we drove from frankfurt to a small town in germany for lunch, where we enjoyed gyros, washed down by hefferveisen. jack, in true nathan fashion, has a good eye for good beer.

jackheff.jpg

our wheels then took us via autobahn to vienna, where we found beds to lay our heads in a hostile just outside the city. breakfast was bread with turkey spread that strongly resembled fancy feast, but that found much favor with our grumbling stomaches. (all of my doubts were settled as to why cats like the stuff so much. maybe i’ll have a shiny coat now.) the drive was glorious, although i think lauren, jack and i were a little glossy-eyed. thank you, rob, for putting up with our incoherent thoughts and questions. quite a trooper, you were, and for driving the WHOLE way, too! budapest was our landing pad for lunch on saturday. what a beautiful city it was, and most enjoyable because of conversation eavesdropping we did. their language sounds garbled and i think we could understand it as well as we grasp jack’s rants of “da da da.” the sky was beautiful crossing the danube.

cross1.jpg

we helped rob shop for a few household essentials at ikea and continued on to ucijek, croatia. rob and janet lived there for two years, so we stopped by their old apartment to pick up a few things, where we met his friends greg and lydia. they kindly shared their bathroom and fresh brownies with us. what a blessing to be in croatia and be greeted by two people with hugs, smiles and warm food. quite a refreshing stop. we slept that night at a nearby seminary that rob taught at while living there. the sun rose and it was off to sarajevo.

(jack waking up to the early croatian sunrise)

jack1.jpg

(side note: you have to stop and show passports at the border of every county. no, we never had any problems with cargo, but of course i caused trouble. you see, i washed my passport within 24 hours of getting it and it looks like its gone through a war. at each stop, the men asked for additional identification and looked at me as if i was up to something. little did they know that i’m not near clever enough to pull off any passport stunts, not to mention that i’m the least sly person i know. this is where you can probably agree, or you could be nice and remind me of a time when i was quite the 007).

i’ve included a little collage of pictures shot from inside the van. a little glimpse of our ride through the magnificent landscape of sarajevo. enjoy!

roadtosarajevosmall21.jpg

and finally, here is jack’s new favorite meal, purchased in hungary. apples, bananas, and turkey drumsticks kindly blended in a glass jar for his enjoyment. what more could you ask for in a meal?

jack4small1.jpg

i’d appreciate prayer in a couple of areas;
*please pray for my adjustment to living here. i’m seeing that its going to take much time to do so. time to learn the language. time to learn how to be sensitive to the people’s pain. time to learn my role in this house…how i can be a servant, a listener, a friend, an encourager. time to find a story to document with my lenses. in all of these things, please pray for me to be patient, willing, and eager to wait for the proper time to learn what i need to learn and to be content in the meantime.
*pray for my ability to be a good friend to lauren and “aunt” to jack. to love them as they are still grieving the loss of nate and as she’s reminded of it by seeing rob and janet’s little family.

and for now, goodbye. from my room to wherever you may be, i love you.

myroom2.jpg

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

June 5, 2007 at 11:59 am

Posted in Uncategorized

19 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. love the photographs. great site girls. keep writing so i can keep following your journey.

    joshua longbrake

    June 5, 2007 at 12:19 pm

  2. Thank you so much McKenzie. This blog was every detail that my mother’s heart desired. Keep it up–you’re a great writer. I’m praying for you.

    Dianne/Rob'sMom

    June 5, 2007 at 2:48 pm

  3. Thank you McKenzie! This blog includes every little detail that my mother’s heart could desire. You’re a good writer–keep it up! Thank you for using your gift of service to my family.

    Dianne/Rob'sMom

    June 5, 2007 at 2:57 pm

  4. Mackenzie, I love this post. I love Jack experiencing airplane squared. I love my brother running to meet you. When I picture him, I picture him running. Did you know we stayed at that same seminary in Osijek at this time last year? It was our first night there and the weird jet lag feeling caused Carlee to wake up at 11:45pm, look at her watch, which was turned upside down (so she thought it was 5:15am) and go down to the showers to start getting ready for our early start to the day. Funny memories.

    Leslie

    June 5, 2007 at 3:07 pm

  5. I love these pictures,, lady. Beautiful job. I’m excited to “watch” your story unfold there. More soon, please!

    Katy

    June 5, 2007 at 3:44 pm

  6. This post was every little detail my mother’s heart desired! Thank you so much McKenzie. You’re a good writer–keep it up. I’m praying for you.

    Dianne/Rob'sMom

    June 5, 2007 at 3:57 pm

  7. This post gave absolutely every little detail that my mother’s heart desired. Thank you so much McKenzie! You’re a good writer–keep it up!

    Dianne/Rob'sMom

    June 5, 2007 at 4:04 pm

  8. Okay….wait a minute! I was totally trying to talk Zack into letting me visit you in October, but I would never put you through those travels again to pick me up. By the time I would get to Bosnia, it would be time to journey back to Germany! Yikes!!! You are AMAZING to be doing what you are doing…I love that about you! And thank you for my special note. I’ve read it many times and will cherish it FOREVER! Send me your address when you have the time. We’ll start working on “care” packages from the Amicks! Love and kisses!!!

    Monika Amick

    June 5, 2007 at 7:06 pm

  9. kenz, your pictures are amazing 🙂 just like you. we’re praying for you and for all the things you mentioned. and dont worry about finding a story… it’ll be a piece of cake. not only are you incredibly creative and talented, but you have a special way of listening to, encouraging, and relating to people in such a way that they desire to open up to you and share their story. you got this 🙂 youll get something amazing and now doubt youll open up the worlds eyes to what bosnia has been through. we’re proud of you and we love you.

    the hofmanns

    June 5, 2007 at 9:54 pm

  10. woah. those smiley’s scare the crap out of me. i didnt know that was gonna happen.

    the hofmanns

    June 5, 2007 at 9:55 pm

  11. I agree. Reading that it took 27 hours to drive there, Even if I came for a month, I would still never want you guys to travel 6 days to pick me up from the airport. haha. Difficult drive, but the pictures were AMAZING! Check my blog in a few days, I have some AMAZING pictures of orphans to put up, as soon as I can get to a computer that allows me to upload photos! I love you and miss you soooo much! I will pray for you and Lauren and baby Jack in your small family´s ministry! I love you all!

    Anonymous

    June 6, 2007 at 2:32 am

  12. I love you, it looks lovely there. I agree with Monika. I would never want to make you travel 3 to 4 days to come pick me up to visit for a month even. haha. so I suppose a support trip is out. haha. But I love you, and it looks amazing there. Guatemala has similar pictures, and I have already taken over 500 in 6 days. haha. You´ll have to help me pick out good ones when you return after many months. I love you and miss you!

    Amy

    June 6, 2007 at 2:51 am

  13. I’m thinking about both of you and Jack every day. I’m glad you made it safely. Mackenzie, your modesty continues to amaze me 😉 I got a laugh about the passport situation. Making us smile from a million miles away… of course! Give a kiss to Lauren and Jack from me. I love you, friend.

    Meredith

    June 6, 2007 at 3:51 pm

  14. can you bring me back some of that turkey/fruit paste? sounds delish! I love you and am so proud of you! let me know when’s a likely time that you’re on skype so i can talk to you sometime! love love love

    darcy (lil' mack)

    June 6, 2007 at 8:21 pm

  15. that was amazing, mackenzie! the pictures, the humor, the reality, the beauty! it made my heart hurt to read it. i think that reading this blog is going to be like my special treat . . . like a perfect novel or something, only i know and love the people in it dearly. tell rob, janet, sim-cycle, and than that i love them all so much. and, i found it very funny that dianne posted the same comment four times.

    Mandi Joy

    June 7, 2007 at 2:36 am

  16. He’s getting HUGE! Oh how I miss that little boy. I love that he’s Oohing over a good Bavarian beer. Perfect. Daddy would most definitely approve. I can hear Nate’s funny comments and wonderful laugh. (Sigh)

    Praying for peace, rest from travels, and courage for the day.

    I love you,

    JoDana

    P.S. What is the time difference between Bosnia and Oregon? We are just about set up for video calling. Hint hint.

  17. darcy. of course i’ll bring you turkey/fruit paste? how could i possibly explain its wondrous qualities without bringing some back for your enjoyment? speaking of dogs, how’s the job?

    goodmorningsarajevo

    June 9, 2007 at 12:22 pm

  18. Hey, I think Jack might have a career as an underwear model.

    Spoon

    June 21, 2007 at 5:32 pm

  19. […] this orphanage is where i’ll live. the directors are grace and paul moses. i met paul on the plane to bosnia. (on far left in first picture.) he played with jack for a long time. conversation led us through […]


Leave a Reply

