Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

.eat burritos for a cheaper rental truck.

with 8 comments

m: i spoke for a long time today with linda at penske. she assured me that her offer for the 16′ rental truck is my best option for moving to seattle. we were on the same page about prices, dates, etc. at the end, but the beginning of the conversation was hilarious and confusing.

okay, you’d like the 16′ truck. that will be $713 and i can hold that rate for 48 hours just for you, mackenzie. wait, let me ask you about memberships to see if you qualify for any deals.
do you have a membership with chipotle? we offer huge discounts if you do.

i wasn’t aware that chipotle offered memberships. i’m sorry, i’m not sure i see their connection to you, though. you did say chipotle, didn’t you?

yes. and they do offer memberships. nationwide, actually. i can connect you with a nearby location if you’re interested. they offer a variety of options for help on the road.
they give you great one-on-one service. convenient. uncomplicated. help you on demand.

i was nodding during all of this. yes, those burrito wrappers are one-on-one. i agree that the assembly line of ingredients is convenient. totally uncomplicated. and they do always satisfy me on demand. i still wasn’t getting the connection.

i’m an aaa member and love the safety it provides me when traveling.

at this point, i started laughing at my ignorance and poor hearing. it clicked.

ohhhhhh, TRIPLE A. that’s what you said. TRIPLE A! i thought you said chipotle.
i think linda almost had a hernia from laughing to hard. seriously, her cubicle friends at penske probably thought she was dealing with a nut case. (not too far from the truth.) i refrained from explaining about the frisky squirrels upstairs who gallop, thus keeping me from the necessary sleep to function (and hear) properly. that would have sealed my status as the nut case (no pun intended.)

linda and i became fast friends. i have yet to call her back to confirm, but she assured me she’d remember burrito girl when i do call.

the joys of miscommunication.
goodbye for now. i love you.
Written by Mackenzie Rollins

March 5, 2008 at 11:37 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

8 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. OH ROO! How I do love you! Thank you for bringing a smile to my face today… I needed that.

    divinegrace

    March 6, 2008 at 12:51 am

  2. that reminds me of the chipotle add…. chip-pole-top-le!

    you’ll be here in hours… i’m excited!

    darcy

    March 6, 2008 at 1:33 am

  3. You silly rabbit! How did you get chipotle out of AAA. Say goodnight Gracie!

    Melissa Rollins

    March 6, 2008 at 7:58 am

  4. Sarajevo, Chennai, Sangita, Texas, and now Seattle? Where are you anyway? Did I miss something? What is in Seattle? We will be in Texas in April — will you? Or will you be in Seattle? You will miss the Texas weather in that dull grey dreariness of Washington State! We all miss you here in Hungary. Love, The Chuns

    Trudy Chun

    March 6, 2008 at 1:19 pm

  5. oooooooooh Burrito….
    I want to eat mexican food

    Lazo

    Lazo Von Vukovaren

    March 6, 2008 at 3:17 pm

  6. i still can’t believe you really are moving to seattle!!!! 😦

    jordan

    March 6, 2008 at 9:55 pm

  7. what kind of discount do you get if you are an AAA member, bc i have that

    dj

    March 6, 2008 at 11:09 pm

  8. @ Trudy: I’m afraid to admit that I’ll be gone by the time you arrive in April. I move April 3rd, which is quickly approaching. How long will you be in the states? I miss you guys, too. Give the girls a hug and kiss for me.

    @ Jo: I know. It’s coming so fast. When can I come see you and your bundle?

    @ DJ: there are tons of discounts. You can look online and see what you qualify for. You also get discounts for being a Sams Club Member, which I think is almost as weird as Chipotle.

    Janet: I’m glad it made you smile. I got your email and have thought about you guys time and time again. I want to know how things are going…

    goodmorningsarajevo

    March 7, 2008 at 10:12 pm


Leave a Reply

