Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

Cell Phon(e)y

with 4 comments

I went by Josh’s earlier for a good morning hug. Called him when I got there so that he knew I was outside, then set my phone on the roof of my car.

Hug.hug.kiss.kiss.

Bye bye.

Drive away.

Plink. Plink. Crash. Bang. Shatter.

(I don’t know how to make good sound effects, as is now obvious to you.)

Gravity assumed responsibility to remove my phone from the roof of my car.

A woman happened to be walking by, witnessing the momentary death of my digits.

Oh man, it must just be one of those days, said she.

Yeah. Wait, no. Just a normal Wednesday.

At least it was a phone and not a car seat with a kid in it. You know, I’ve read about that happening.

(A little fatalistic for my taste, but whatever.)

I didn’t know what to say. Ashamedly picked up the pieces. Pieced the phone back together. Did a little dance (in my head) when the phone came back to life. And drove off...to my nanny job, where I’m taking care of two car seat-using chillun. I chose to keep this fact from Ms. Optimistic.

Ciao. I love you.

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

August 27, 2008 at 10:53 am

Posted in Uncategorized

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Tell me nanny nia that the phone was the Nokia!

    Dad

    August 27, 2008 at 11:49 am

  2. wow… dad’s rhyme is wonderful… i cannot comment better than that

    darc

    August 27, 2008 at 4:29 pm

  3. my phone also died… the phone decided to go black on me… and you know what they say, “once you go black you never go back…” my phone took that to heart…

    we just aren’t meant to have phones in one piece! : )

    darc

    August 27, 2008 at 4:29 pm

  4. bet you’re glad you didnt get the iphone now, huh?!

    courtney

    August 27, 2008 at 5:31 pm


Leave a Reply

