Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

My armpit hair is long & the sky is pink

with 13 comments

Sick. Totally. I agree.

It happens. (And more often than I’d like to admit.)

It’s where I happen to find myself in this moment.

Today, my brother called to tell me the official name of his brewing baby. She’s due in March and will be my first niece. And OH MY am I excited! I hope to be the favorite aunt, and know regardless I’ll wear well and wear down the title of crazy aunt. The aunt who never has it all together but somehow tries to appear as if she does.

Will be remembered for furry armpits and fleshy legs, which share an uncanny resemblance to the honeycombs of bees discovered on Rollins’ adventures (which from a young age we named FFF. Forced Family Fun.)

Brewing baby, I love you already. I want to sing to you, and apologize in advance for having no awareness of good pitch. I want to dance with you. And in that realm, I must apologize for a.) no skill and 2.) the fact that you are indeed a Rollins and thus have inherited the bad horrible dancer gene. Tough luck, kiddo. I want to read stories to you that are well above your level of comprehension, knowing that you’ll understand them anyway because of the intelligent two-some that got it on to make you. I want to write pretty letters to you, full of blank sheets of paper for you to scribble masterpieces on to mail back to me. I want to hold you. To laugh with you. To comfort you when you cry. For you to know that I love you deeply. Have since the moment I learned of your existence. And that I will, forever and ever.

I can’t describe the attachment I already feel to this little girl, though she is not my own.

(Note to Derek and Steph: If something were to happen to you, I expect to be given custody. Fatalistic? Come on, it has to be thought about.)

Something about her being related by blood. Being brought into the world by a man I adore so deeply. Who has been a brother, father, friend, advocate.

You could not be given a better father, little one. And I’m so so excited to watch him learn you. Love you. Care for you. And most importantly, to rub off on you. The parts of him which have stuck with me are my finer qualities. Besides occasional I.B.S. and stubbornness which will drive one mad, he’s chock full of good things.

Welcome, baby Rollins. I’ll be seeing you soon.

Goodbye for now. I love you.

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

November 22, 2008 at 2:43 am

Posted in Uncategorized

13 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. i love your honesty. until you talk about your armpit hair. haha! congratulations on the new addition to the family! surely you’ll take a trip to photograph the little bundle of poo!

    stephanie

    November 22, 2008 at 3:47 am

  2. I should clarify. The hair is long-ISH. Not like feminist backpacker of Europe long…but enough to cast quite a well-defined 5 o’clock shadow. I don’t think I’m helping anything. Digging…digging…

    Mackenzie Rollins

    November 22, 2008 at 9:55 am

  3. The DNA of the ancient “wooly mammoth” was decoded this week……..THEY were hairy! Love, Dad

    Dad

    November 22, 2008 at 5:32 pm

  4. I’m not sure how I feel with your discussing your armpit hair in the same sentence as my grand daughter. She could be traumatized for life. xoxo mom

    kristin

    November 22, 2008 at 5:34 pm

  5. Beautiful.

    Jarrod Shappell

    November 22, 2008 at 7:12 pm

  6. So what does that make me?

    darcy

    November 23, 2008 at 4:23 am

  7. @ Darcy: The MOSTEST favorite aunt. It’s like ten levels above Favorite aunt. Or twenty. We must both swear to keep each other in check as far as gifts are concerned. Must never buy from the no-no list.

    Are you so excited about her?

    Mackenzie Rollins

    November 23, 2008 at 10:09 am

  8. Yes I’m super-excited to meet Camden Bailey Rollins!

    And don’t worry, I just plan on giving her tons and tons of Swiss Miss… because every niece needs a lifetime supply every year!

    darc

    November 23, 2008 at 3:00 pm

  9. Maybe you could cover the marshmallows…

    darc

    November 23, 2008 at 3:01 pm

  10. hahahaha! you are hilarious. my shaving tends to take to the back burner when it gets colder outside. i feel like i need the extra coverage. kinda like insulation. that’s why it’s there, right?

    stephanie

    November 23, 2008 at 5:15 pm

  11. I’m sending all of you razors for Christmas.

    Miss VA

    November 24, 2008 at 1:45 pm

  12. @mom & dad: maybe we could nickname her Wooly. Derek suggested Camo as the nickname, but Wooly works for me. Love it?

    @miss va: That’d be swell! I’m sure those around me (read: fiancé) would greatly appreciate it.

    kenz

    November 25, 2008 at 2:42 am

  13. Interesting exchanges above. Pretty baby name! Know you will be a great aunt and come to think of it I will also be a “great-aunt” Melissa “Hardest Working Woman in Dallas” Rollins

    Melissa Rollins

    November 25, 2008 at 3:18 pm


Leave a Reply

