Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

Yet another hairy situation

with 9 comments

me_pdid

There are two people in life. People who always have the perfect haircut. Whose hair always looks fabulous and magazine-worthy. And then there are the rest of us, whose hair always just misses. And when your haircut just misses, it really misses. It’s almost cute, almost flattering, but just…well, not. Like that discounted pair of jeans you bought at Ross because they saved you twenty dollars. Not anywhere as cute as the Joe’s you tried, but you don’t mind just missing to save a few bucks.

And so it is with hair. You (I) go to a cheaper barber (Are they even referred to as barber’s anymore? That tells you a little sumpin’ sumpin’ about the places I’m going) to save a few bucks and leave on the verge of tears EVERY time. Hold it in, hold it in. Don’t hurt her feelings. She knows not what she does (did) and how she just ruined my life until this grows out in 2014.

It happens every time I go for a haircut. EVERY time. Texas. Bosnia. Seattle. And now New York. I have a glorified mullet this very moment, which is so not okay on the upper east side.

Phillip (above) is only 16 months old and already knows a bad haircut when he sees one. When I held up my hair, his comment:

Uh oh. Oh no! Oh no!

Lovely.

I hate getting my haircut. I wish I knew what to ask for. I wish they could guess exactly what I wanted and make my hair perfect. How do all the other girls manage to come out with that hair?

Goodbye for now. I love you, and your haircut, be it good or ghastly.

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

November 5, 2009 at 8:42 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

9 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. Ask Stephanie if she liked her hair cut and color. It won’t hurt my feelings but Darc and I thought it looked darling and she used my guy. Maybe when you’re in Dallas…but I guess your mullet won’t be grown out by then:} Love you

    mom

    November 5, 2009 at 9:46 pm

  2. cute people don’t need cute haircuts 🙂 xoxo

    jordan

    November 5, 2009 at 10:12 pm

  3. you know, i kinda like your hair grown out. it’s lovely! pssst, i tell you a little secret of mine when i go for haircuts – i PRAY. that’s my ritual each time i go for it. 😉

    and i couldn’t help but read your post before i looked at the photos. so cute! =)

    missfpq

    November 6, 2009 at 5:42 am

  4. I used to have the same issue- so I feel you. If you ever happen to meander through cincinnati, let me know- i have a fantastic stylist here who’s a friend of mine. And I think I love going to him so much not just because he does hair so well, but because you leave his chair feeling like the most beautiful girl in the world- he makes you feel like a million bucks. its great 🙂

    good luck in hair world, its a brutal one!

    Lauren Neese

    November 6, 2009 at 6:15 am

  5. Phillip!! My man!!

    Rachel!

    November 6, 2009 at 11:36 am

  6. all i can say is i sympathize.

    justmetoyou

    November 6, 2009 at 11:36 am

  7. To Beauty

    To worship
    At the alter of Beauty,
    To feel her loveliness and pain,
    To thrill
    At the wonder of her gorgeous moon
    Or the sharp, swift, silver swords
    Of falling rain.

    To walk in a golden garden
    When an autumn sun
    Has almost set,
    When near-night’s purple splendor
    Shimmers to a star-shine net.
    To worship
    At the alter of Beauty
    Is a pleasure divine,
    Not given to the many many
    But to fools
    Who drink Beauty’s wine.
    Not given to the many many
    But to fools
    Who seek no other goddess
    Nor grapes
    Plucked from another’s
    Vine.

    Langston Hughes

    Bill

    November 6, 2009 at 7:18 pm

  8. Wow. You are so silly. And so beautiful. I love that I can come here for my daily poetry reading now. Another great one, Bill! I love Phillip. And sorry, but I’m just not seeing how you could be anything but beautiful.

    Leslie

    November 7, 2009 at 8:37 am

  9. @ Bill: I love that poem and I now want to read more L. Hughes. Can’t say I know much of it but I like what you’ve shared thus far. Do you know much Walt Whitman? I know his poems are much different but I just read a piece about his life and time near the Brooklyn Bridge as he wrote against slavery. Very interesting guy.

    @ Leslie: I feel the same about you. Thank you for your kind words.

    @ Jo: We both know we’ve had some lovely cuts over the years. It’s a relief to know you’ll never leave when its really bad, as you stayed with me through middle school and surely nothing can be worse than those fashionable days.

    @Lauren: If you feel like bringing said stylist to NY for a weekend, I know of a place you could stay for free 🙂 I’ll exchange a room for a nice haircut. Deal?

    @ mom: Darc said she loved Steph’s hair but Derek didn’t. Did you like it? Did she change it? Steph, I realize you’re probably reading this. Did you like it? Did you change it?

    @ missfpq: I need to pray much more, apparently.

    Mackenzie Rollins

    November 8, 2009 at 3:48 pm


Leave a Reply

