Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

A little splish, A little splash

with 7 comments

Babies are born with swimming abilities and can naturally hold their breath. However, they quickly lose this instinct.

This was so apparent while watching Camden in the water. She would have, without resistance, put her chubby face under the water a million times if permitted. No fear of or awareness of its ability to harm her. In such situations, YOU (me, her mom, grandmother, etc.) are completely responsible for keeping her out of harm’s way.

It’s terrifying and honoring at the same time. I’ve worked with and for so many families and it always feels like a tremendous privilege to be trusted with their first (second, third … currently, sixth) -born. And when you think about it, we’re all entrusted with so much wherever we are. We have been put there to, figuratively and sometimes quite literally, keep someone’s head above water.

Boss, salesman, household manager, mom, counselor, unemployed father, student, wife, saleslady of fancy cupcakes. Whatever our role, we have been placed there divinely to carry out a very specific purpose. To love, to hold, to listen, to cry with, to hope for. And the funny thing is that this is true even when we find ourselves in a job that isn’t ultimately what we want to be doing. Maybe it’s temporary. Maybe it’s all you could find. Maybe it was what you thought you wanted, but you’ve come to realize that the opposite is true. Or maybe it’s where you are and where you’ve been for decades, whether you’ve liked those years or not.

Regardless, you are equally important in your role. It’s no mistake you’re there and I’m quite confident that someone is touched by your presence.

As the season of giving approaches (er, I suppose it’s here!) I pray that you feel the power you have to touch those around you. I’m sure it sounds incredibly cheesy coming from me, and I cringe a bit as I type this, but it’s true. I believe it. And I know that too often I forget the power I have to really make a splish and a splash in the lives’ around me because of the God who splishes and splashes incessantly in my heart. As I look at these pictures of Camden and think of the power I have to shape and influence this little person, I’m reminded that the same is true for the older and wrinklier warm-blooded bodies around me.

………………….

I witnessed and felt the first gentle caress of New York snow flurries this evening as I left the Brooklyn Museum of Art. It was magical, as most snowfall tends to be to us veteran Southerners who aren’t so sure what to do with it. It’s going to be a wonderful Christmas this year.

A good friend of mine shared her thoughts on this Christmas season:

…The Christmas season has taken over in my heart. It’s as if I feel it more this year than ever before. And I love it. I’m reveling in its joyousness and relishing its goodness. Christmas songs are no longer my adversary, but unabashedly welcome in my car and apartment. “Accompany me!,” I say. It’s a lovely feeling, really. It’s like for so long Christmas, the holidays, had been such a dreaded aspect of the calendar. But slowly, I see how God has peeled away those layers of hurt; exposing a woman (and child)- a girl- who very much loves Christmas: all that it stands for, its significance, unifying spirit, peace. its magic. It really is a wonderful place to be; enjoying God. Enjoying Christ and learning what that really means.”

Peace to you, friends… from a bathtub, a museum, an email, and my desk, which has been overrun by an army of snotty tissues.

Goodbye for now. I love you, through and through.

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

December 5, 2009 at 9:59 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

7 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. such a great sentiment and so glad you shared… it might feel cheesy to be saying such, but it’s true and it’s wonderful truth! it’s freeing and reminds me of the hope that makes my fear and insecurity wash away. hug! sam

    sam

    December 6, 2009 at 4:51 am

  2. baby bums in the bathtub= two thumbs up
    letting God splish splash in our lives= two thumbs up x2!

    thanks for the reminder of joy!
    lovelovelove

    jdotess

    December 6, 2009 at 5:29 am

  3. when camden is older, do tell her that she’s pretty much loved even in asia, mainly singapore =)

    jelinejoy

    December 6, 2009 at 10:13 pm

  4. Amen !
    Power to the people:
    Have a great holiday season.

    Bill

    December 7, 2009 at 3:34 am

  5. Am I the wrinklier warm-blooded body around you? I hope so. To more warm-blooded fun this holiday season. See you 2 weeks from Thursday. Yeah!

    mom

    December 8, 2009 at 8:24 pm

  6. For the first time in years I embraced the Christmas spirit this year. And it felt so good. I like the way you say we have the power to shape and influence the bodies around us. But even with that in mind I still feel unimportant and untouched…

    Kim

    December 28, 2009 at 2:07 pm

  7. Kim,

    I love you. Phone date soon?

    Mackenzie Rollins

    January 1, 2010 at 1:24 am


Leave a Reply

