Mackenzie Rollins | Weblog

Purty P

with 5 comments

I’ve spent the weekend in Pennsylvania. Took a bus out of New York City on Friday night with quite the cast of characters to get here. Billy Bob opened his bucket o’ fried chicken not 2 seconds after we departed from Port Authority. Anand opened his chicken tikki masala. Sorority girls 1, 2, and 3 blared Snoop Dog from girl # 1’s cracked Toshiba laptop. Geenie screamed at her son THOMAS for almost the whole ride. Obviously an effective method of correcting his tantrums. We took a ten minute break in King of Prussia, PA, which was just as charming as the website. It was a most entertaining ride. I was able to enjoy most of it from surprising distance with my noise canceling headphones. They’ve quickly become my favorite traveling companion. La la la la I see your mouth moving but I can’t hear you. You have no idea how relieved I am about this.

Buses are a great way to travel if you have time. They’re not a great idea if you’re tired and are the only one on the bus without your stereotyped meal. I suppose that’d mean I forgot my Diet Coke and gluten-free hummus chips with sea salt.

Yes, I should be struck by lightening for my stereotyping. Hopefully it won’t happen in the next two hours before I start shooting the wedding.

The bride and groom’s families are fabulous. I’ve intentionally pursued a job that isn’t 24/7 photography because I get burnt out when I do it all the time. It makes it so enjoyable to leave the city and put all of my creative juices into an event… i.e. a barn wedding in Brogue, PA.

I’ve been staying with the bride’s grandparents, who are wholly endearing, good lovin’ 80 somethings. I prefer to dive into the families who are a part of weddings I shoot (i.e. stay with some key member) because I then not only get to see the family dynamics but also to be a part of them. It gives me time to experience and enjoy everyone off-camera so that I know how to capture them authentically, instead of who I think they are based on loafer and brooch choices. I now have a more robust vision of how to shoot today’s celebration, and hopefully they’re now comfortable with me so that they can forget the camera is even there. Win win.

When I walked in on Friday night, the TV WAS ON AS HIGH AS THE CONTROL WOULD ALLOW and a soft pink glow filled the home. Grandpa was eating honey nut cheerios when I awoke, and quickly offered me a bowl while advising that “all you have to do is eat around the holes.” I felt like a royal jerk when I had to say I can’t eat gluten. You would’ve thought I’d just admitted that I’m a child kindnapper or something. Cocked head, inquisitive brow in response.

His wife didn’t have her hearing aid in when I met her SO I SAID HELLO (which is surprisingly easy for me to do at in the higher decibel range) and probably woke the whole house in doing so. I then had to repeat the gluten thing. I HAD TO REPEAT THAT I HAVE A GLUTEN ALLERGY. A GLUUUUTEEEEEEN ALLLLLLLERGGGGGYYYYYYYY.

Close-knit family. Good home cooking. Porch. Lush grass. Clapboard frame. They offered pancakes this morning. Yup, fun game again.

I start shooting the wedding in a bit and should go. It’s fun to feel inspired and excited about shooting all day. Makes me very grateful for the time away and is confirming that I’m choosing a routine and schedule that’s good for me and my art.

Goodbye for now. I LOVE YOU.

York & Brogue, PA

Written by Mackenzie Rollins

October 10, 2010 at 5:55 am

Posted in Uncategorized

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. …not as purty as pixburgh! πŸ™‚ we got more of a brogue than brogue, n-at. especially dahntahn. πŸ˜‰ (yes, i would rather kreep around here than do my homework. HOMEWORK. who is nearly 36 y o and has NOMEWORK? ahhhh, the rebellious life of the lifelong learner. watch out, ww, watch out! i’m bout to steal your invisible plane n-at.

    …yes, ok, i’m going to do my homework now. (tail between legs, stalks away loudly.)

    w.w.aka.diana.prince

    October 10, 2010 at 2:53 pm

  2. just reposting w/ more of a track, just in case you couldn’t figure out who i iz. πŸ˜‰

    w.w.aka.diana.prince

    October 10, 2010 at 4:48 pm

  3. Have you ever thought about a career in comedy ? They say being funny is all about timing.

    β€œTake my wife. Please !”: Henny Youngman
    πŸ™‚

    Bill

    October 10, 2010 at 6:04 pm

  4. I didn’t know you had a gluten allergy. Have you felt better since not eating it? We will have to catch up, I found out I have food allergies as well and I’ve had to be on a gluten, sugar, yeast, cheese free diet for the past three months. Hopefully it won’t be forever but we will see.

    jen

    October 11, 2010 at 7:27 pm

  5. You are indeed inspired and invisible as you give creative expression to your art. (im)Patiently waiting to see your vision of a most amazing day! πŸ™‚ oxo

    Linda

    October 14, 2010 at 4:15 am


Leave a Reply

